Below is the second half of the Neil Young soundboard-derived live collection A Perfect Echo Vol. I. capturing the years 1974 – 1976. Look for the first part of Vol. I to be posted here in the future. Parts I and II of Vol. II can still be found here and here. For those interested in the back story, here are notes on the series via sharing the groove:

“Braden Strickler has done it again. He’s compiled and lovingly mastered, almost exclusively from soundboard recordings, an 8-DISC SET which runs chronologically from August 1967 to January 2001. It’s like an expanded version of the “Rock ‘n’ Roll Cowboy” concept, but with far superior sound.

This is a compilation of soundboard recordings from 1967-2001. The term soundboard is a bit of a misnomer. By soundboard I mean, basically, not an audience recording. Some are true soundboards, while others are FM, TV, ALD, or video-sourced recordings. The recordings were all taken from cdrs or videos that are circulating in the trading community. There are a total of 115 tracks (109 songs, as 6 get repeated). Some years were heavy with available recordings (1976 and 1989 come to mind). I tried to balance the set by not using too many songs from a single show. The entire 8 discs run in, roughly, chronological order.

MP3: Neil Young :: Walk On (csny – westbury, ny, 8-sep-1974)
MP3: Neil Young :: Ambulance Blues (csny – westbury, ny, 8-sep-1974)
MP3: Neil Young :: Lookin’ For A Love (san francisco, ca, 23-mar-1975)
MP3: Neil Young :: No One Seems To Know (tokyo, japan, 10-mar-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Human Highway (london, england, 31-mar-1976)
Neil Young :: Cortez The Killer (london, england, 31-mar-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: White Line (fort worth, tx, 10-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Don’t Cry No Tears (chicago, il, 15-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Peace of Mind (chicago, il, 15-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: A Man Needs A Maid (chicago, il, 15-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Give Me Strength (chicago, il, 15-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Lotta Love (chicago, il, 15-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Like A Hurricane (chicago, il, 15-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Harvest (boston, ma, 22-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Campaigner (boston, ma, 22-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: Here We Are In The Years (atlanta, ga, 24-nov-1976)
MP3: Neil Young :: The Losing End (atlanta, ga, 24-nov-1976)
———— ++

+ Download music through eMusic’s 25 Free MP3 offer.
+ Visit The Hype Machine for additional Neil Young MP3s.

10 Responses to “Neil Young :: A Perfect Echo Vol. I – Pt 2”

  1. Thank you so much for posting these! Your blog is incredible… keep up the great work! Neil, Wilco, Ryan and so many other faves of mine and they’re all here…

  2. Some really amazing performances in this post, and Braden Strickler is deserving of more than a simple congratulations for the incredible job he’s done compiling and cleaning up the archived material. Thanks again for putting it out there.

  3. i found a good resource for ‘echo’ tracklists and album covers, if anyone is interested-

  4. Thank you very much for the N Young posts, this will be one excellent collection to have. Please keep up the good work

  5. Thanks for the greatness.

    You had posted these before, yes?

  6. Dan, yes, but I had so many requests for a re-post (and the material is so good) I threw them up again.

  7. Well if you have to throw up anything, this is nice to throw up.

  8. Man, this stuff is just keeps rocking my (free) world: thanks for making it available, it has made a big difference for me on what has been, in many ways, a rather shitty day.

  9. I just wanted to tell you how much I appreciate this blog and all the good music you put out there. Keep it up!

  10. Great share. I’m a really BIG Neil Young fan. Looking forward for more Neil Young from this site.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>