Randy Newman :: WPLJ FM – New York City – August, 1971

Twenty-three track radio session Randy Newman cut while in New York City in August of 1971 for WPLJ FM. Stripped down, solo piano. The session serves to both highlight material culled from Newman’s first two albums (1968’s s/t and 1970’s 12 Songs) as well as to showcase tracks from his next full-length, 1972’s Sail Away.

Download/tracklisting after the jump…

Download:  Randy Newman: WPLJ FM – New York, NY, 1971 (zipped folder 100mb)

01. Lover’s Prayer
02. Yellow Man
03. Sail Away
04. Living Without You
05. Mama Told Me Not To Come
06. Rosemary
07. Last Night I Had A Dream
08. Let Me Go
09. Lucinda
10. I’ll Be Home
11. Suzanne
12. DJ Filler
13. Old Kentucky Home
14. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today
15. Tickle Me
16. Love Story (You And Me)
17. Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear
18. Cowboy
19. If You Need Oil
20. The Beehive State
21. So Long Dad
22. Guilty
23. Lonely At The Top

9 thoughts on “Randy Newman :: WPLJ FM – New York City – August, 1971

  1. Always told myself I hated singer-songwriters, allowing some slack for Dylan. But damn, Randy Newman maketh a liar of me.

  2. He was great back then, he’s great now. Glad we can have both and don’t have to decide which was better. One of the consummate professionals.

  3. Any chance of this being re-upped? The link is dead and I’m pretty curious to hear it… Thanks for all the amazing and informative stuff on your blog!

Comments are closed.