On Black Friday (November 25th) Light In The Attic Records will release Lagniappe Sessions, Vol. 1, documenting the first five years of the series on gold vinyl. Since launching the series in 2011, the Lagniappe Sessions have come to define the genre-spanning, eclectic ethos of of A.D.

Vol. 1 features of Montreal covering the folk standard  “All My Sorrows” (popularized by the Kingston Trio), Sonny & The Sunsets covering West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band, Ryley Walker playing Amen Dunes, Dungen reinterpreting electronic pioneer Aphex Twin, Little Wings plying Billy Idol’s haunting “Eyes Without A Face,” White Fence refashioning the Gin Blossoms’ “Allison Road” into a lost Paisley Underground cut, Ultimate Painting covering Sheryl Crow, Tashaki Miyaki tapping into the dreaminess of The Flamingos’ “I Only Have Eyes For You,” Matthew E. White singing Randy Newman, Kevin Morby finding hidden loveliness in the hardcore screed of The Germs, William Tyler mapping the connection between the progressive rock of Blue Öyster Cult and Sandy Bull’s transcendental ragas, and Jennifer Castle covering Nobel Prize winner Bob Dylan.

Presented for the first time on vinyl and limited to 1,500 copies, the LP comes housed in a deluxe Stoughton tip-on jacket and includes a booklet with track notes by the artists. This album is an official Record Store Day Black Friday release and available only at participating stores.

One Response to “Light In The Attic Records Presents: Lagniappe Sessions Vol. 1 / Black Friday Release – Gold Vinyl”

  1. this is a great idea!

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>