Modern Nature :: Supernature

Following the sudden disbandment of Ultimate Painting, Jack Cooper returns with a new, three-song EP under the name Modern Nature. Joined by keyboardist Will Young, drummer Aaron Neveu (Woods), cellist Ruper Gillett, and saxophonist Jeff Tobias (Sunwatchers), Cooper tell us: “The band is so new, it’s hard to say who’s in and who isn’t. Every song we record or musician we gain, another door seems to open on a route that’s worth pursuing.”

Open routes, indeed. On the eleven-minute “Supernature,” the first taste from the forthcoming Nature EP, Cooper widens the lens of the paisley psychedelia that U.P. were in the middle of, and expands the sonic scope tremendously, fusing English folk influences with chamber clothed experimental rock and spiritual jazz ragas. Get lost in it below, and dive into this playlist that Young and Cooper culled from fellow wide-eyed influences.

The Nature EP is out March 22 via Bella Union. Until then… | c depasquale